AKT a Afrika

This page is also available in:

Vztahy mezi EU a 79 zeměmi skupiny afrických, karibských a tichomořských států, z níž nedávno vznikla Organizace afrických, karibských a tichomořských států, byly od první úmluvy z Lomé (z roku 1975) až do dohody z Cotonou (z let 2000–2021) řízeny partnerstvími mezi AKT a EU.

EHSV během tohoto období usiloval spolu s občanskou společností AKT o to, aby byla uznána zásadní úloha, kterou plní nestátní subjekty v procesu rozvoje. Toho bylo nakonec dosaženo díky dohodě z Cotonou, jejímž prostřednictvím byl EHSV pověřen, aby organizoval činnosti a konzultace s „hospodářskými a sociálními skupinami AKT-EU“, a tak shromažďoval názory organizované občanské společnosti a tlumočil je. Cílem bylo podporovat kontakty a poskytovat doporučení k otázkám a politikám týkajícím se vztahů mezi AKT a EU, jež byly poté oficiálně zasílány vedoucím představitelům EU a AKT.

Činnost EHSV, která se týká vztahů mezi EU a Organizací afrických, karibských a tichomořských států , konkrétně řídí především inkluzivní monitorovací výbor EU-AKT. Ten tvoří členové a delegáti EHSV, kteří zastupují hospodářské a sociální zájmové skupiny AKT

Monitorovací výbor EU-AKT udržuje pravidelné kontakty se zástupci občanské společnosti v zemích AKT na různých úrovních prostřednictvím:

  • pravidelných schůzí monitorovacího výboru EU-AKT,
  • regionálních seminářů pořádaných v zemích AKT, které představují fórum pro projednávání témat společného zájmu se zástupci občanské společnosti v pravidelně se střídajících regionech,
  • obecných schůzí se zástupci hospodářských a sociálních zájmových skupin ze zemí AKT, které se konají každé tři roky v Bruselu.

Pravidelné kontakty udržuje EHSV také se zástupci hospodářských a sociálních zájmových skupin v rámci společné strategie EU-Afrika. Pořádá zvláště výroční schůze se sítí hospodářských a sociálních subjektů EU a Afriky.

Mnoho let je také v pravidelném kontaktu se Smíšeným parlamentním shromážděním AKT-EU, na jehož plenárních zasedáních předkládá zprávu o své činnosti.

Je také v úzkém kontaktu s mezinárodními zaměstnavatelskými, zaměstnaneckými, zemědělskými, družstevními a spotřebitelskými organizacemi. Tyto organizace jmenují zástupce zemí AKT, kteří jsou zváni na schůze pořádané EHSV, včetně schůzí monitorovacího výboru EU-AKT.

  • Adopted on 27/04/2021 - Bureau decision date: 01/12/2020
    Reference
    INT/930-EESC-2020-01-01
    Workers - GR II
    Malta

    The Communication stresses the EU's commitment to safeguarding an online environment providing the highest possible freedom and security, for the benefit of its citizens.

    EESC opinion: Communication on cybersecurity strategy
  • Adopted on 18/09/2020 - Bureau decision date: 20/02/2020
    Reference
    REX/527-EESC-2020-01-01
    • The common foundation of any EU political engagement leading to an equal development partnership with Africa shall be based on a multidimensional approach, articulating the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the respect of Universal Human Rights (UHRs) - including fundamental rights, the right to a healthy environment and the freedom to conduct a business.
    • The EESC advocates promoting a decent life and good prospects, creating a middle class and supporting equal partnerships by strengthening sustainable social-liberal democratic structures in Africa.
    • The EESC highlights that the EU strategy on Africa must focus on Development and welcomes the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA).
    • The EESC reiterates the important role of organised civil society in the up-coming ACP-EU Partnership Agreement.
    • The EESC stresses that long-term investment in intra-African infrastructures makes econom
    EESC opinion: EU and Africa: Making an equal development partnership a reality based on sustainability and common values (own-initiative opinion)
  • Adopted on 14/03/2018 - Bureau decision date: 19/09/2017
    Reference
    REX/495-EESC-2017-01-01
    (Romania
    EESC opinion: A new impetus for the Africa-EU Partnership (Communication)
  • Adopted on 07/12/2017 - Bureau decision date: 24/01/2017
    Reference
    REX/485-EESC-2017-01-01-EESC-2017-00788-00-00-AC-TRA
    (United Kingdom

    The Commission recently published a Communication on a Renewed Partnership with the ACP Group of countries. ACP-EU relations are currently governed by the Cotonou Partnership Agreement that will expire in 2020, therefore the Commission has published recommendations on what the future structure should be. Last year the EESC already drafted a general opinion on the post-Cotonou framework; this new opinion will have to answer specifically to the Commission's communication.

     

    EESC opinion: Renewed partnership with African, Caribbean and Pacific countries (Communication)
    Renewed ACP Partnership
  • Adopted on 18/10/2017 - Bureau decision date: 26/01/2017
    Reference
    REX/487-EESC-2017-01-01
    (Austria
    Workers - GR II
    Austria

    The EESC is a strong advocate of a fair, well-administered and sustainable development policy at EU level. It is also very committed to the cause of greater tax justice. In recent years, questions have been raised as to whether the international tax policies of the Member States, in particular the concluding of certain types of double taxation agreements, are consistent with EU development policy objectives.

    EESC opinion: EU development partnerships and the challenge posed by international tax agreements (own-initiative opinion)
  • Adopted on 26/04/2017 - Bureau decision date: 13/12/2016
    Reference
    REX/484-EESC-2017-01-01
    Diversity Europe - GR III
    Romania
    (Romania

    The 2030 Agenda, the new global framework for sustainable development agreed by the UN in 2015, needs to be reflected in EU's development policy, the major orientations of which are set out in the 2005 European Consensus on Development ("the Consensus").

    To this end, the Commission issued Communication COM(2016) 740, "Proposal for a New European Consensus on Development: Our World, Our Dignity, Our Future" in November 2016.  Interinstitutional negotiations are expected to result in its endorsement in the form of a Joint Statement by the Council, the European Parliament and the Commission, in May 2017.

    EESC opinion: Proposal for a new European Consensus on Development: "Our World, our Dignity, our Future” (Communication)
  • Adopted on 14/12/2016 - Bureau decision date: 24/05/2016
    Reference
    REX/469-EESC-2016-01-01
    Diversity Europe - GR III
    Ireland

    Development responses to forced displacement should be tailored for each geographic region, whilst ensuring joined-up action across the European Commission and other institutions. While a development-led approach can produce considerable results with the current budget, the need for extra resources should not be ruled out. Civil society, end users, development partners and NGOs should be involved in the delivery and in making the Commission's Communication operational. Social and civil dialogue structures and processes should be enhanced and improved in partner and host countries to assist with its delivery. Entrepreneurship in the affected regions should be supported and developed as a viable development path for many forcibly displaced people. Education and training responses should be based on a lifelong learning approach. The possibility of making EU programmes available to forcibly displaced people should be considered.

    EESC opinion: Lives in Dignity: from Aid-dependence to Self-reliance
  • Adopted on 25/05/2016 - Bureau decision date: 15/09/2015
    Reference
    REX/455-EESC-2015-01-01
    (United Kingdom

    The EESC recommends that the EU should aim to achieve a modern, equal and effective partnership with the ACP countries that transcends a donor-recipient relationship and is based on a coherent and integrated EU external policy, based on the principle of Policy Coherence for Development (PCD). This framework should guarantee the involvement of civil society organisations, including the private sector, whose specific task should be to monitor and assess the impact of the implementation of this Agreement on the sustainable development of the Parties. Civil society should be provided with the technical and financial support needed to undertake this role.

    The EESC recommends that all forms of development support that the EU gives to third countries should fall under the same legal framework and should be subject to the same democratic scrutiny by the European Parliament, while retaining the same positive aspects of the EDF.

    EESC opinion: Future of EU's relations with ACP Group of countries (Green Paper)
  • Adopted on 02/07/2015
    Reference
    REX/441-EESC-2015-01-01
    Employers - GR I
    Czech Republic
    Plenary session number
    509
    -

    2015 is marked as the European Year for Development (when the process of discussion for the post-Cotonou arrangements will begin to gain momentum), but also as the year where the Millenium Development Goals (defined until 2015) will give way to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). To combine development and sustainability, all available resources of financing must be explored. The magnitude of this challenge is so large that all players including governments, private sector, banks, civil society organisations and development agencies must contribute to the implementation of these goals.

     

  • Adopted on 22/10/2013
    Reference
    REX/392-EESC-2013-01-01-6639
    Diversity Europe - GR III
    Latvia
    Plenary session number
    494
    -

    The aim of the European Year for Development 2015 is to inform EU citizens about EU development cooperation, highlighting what the European Union can already achieve as the biggest aid donor in the world and how it could do even more with the combined strength of its Member States and its institutions.