This page is also available in

14.00 -  Welcome address

  • Mr Jacek KRAWCZYK, President, EESC Employers' Group

14.10 - Opening statement

  • HE Marie-Louise COLEIRO PRECA, President of Malta

14.30 - Panel 1 – Attracting private sector investment: the example of Malta

  • Mr Ian BORG, Parliamentary Secretary for EU funds and 2017 Presidency
  • Mr Frank V. FARRUGIA, President, Maltese Chamber of Commerce
  • Mr Tony ZAHRA, President, Malta Hotels and Restaurants Association
  • Mr Paul ABELA, President, Malta Chamber of SMEs (GRTU)
  • Ms Dolores SAMMUT BONNICI, President, Malta Employers' Association
  • Ms Marisa XUEREB, Managing Director, Raesch Quarz Malta

Questions & Answers

Moderator: Mr Stefano MALLIA, Vice-president of the EESC Employers' Group

15.30 - Keynote speech

  • Mr Joseph MUSCAT, Prime Minister of Malta

15.50 - Panel 2 – How efficient is EFSI in mobilising private investment?

  • Mr Alberto MAZZOLA, Rapporteur of the EESC opinion on "the Extension of the duration of EFSI (EFSI 2.0)", Member of the Employers' Group
  • Mr Fabian ZULEEG, Chief Executive and Chief Economist, EPC
  • Mr Rene SALIBA, Chairman of the Fiscal Council and Chairman of the Malta Development Bank Working Group
  • Ms Merete CLAUSEN, Head of Unit, ECFIN L.2, Financing of innovation, competitiveness and employment policies, European Commission
  • Mr Michael SMYTH, Vice-President of the EESC in charge of Budget

Questions & Answers

Moderator: Ms Emmanuelle BUTAUD-STUBBS, Member, EESC Employers' Group

17.15 - Closing session

  • Mr Stefano MALLIA, Vice-president, EESC Employers' Group
  • Mr Joost VAN IERSEL, President, ECO section, EESC