SOC section opinions - page 1

Hide Filters Show Filters

name / number
/
Related
Reset

Results 1 to 10 out of 389.

  • 27 Apr 2016
    Employment guidelines Adopted References: SOC/540 EESC-2016-01756-00-00-ac-tra Referral - Plenary Session: 516 - 27 Apr 2016 - 28 Apr 2016 (Summary Plenary Session)

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Employment guidelines

  • 27 Apr 2016
    Fairer labour mobility within the EU Adopted References: SOC/531 EESC-2016-00258-00-00-ac-tra Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: González de Txabarri Etxaniz (Workers - GR II / Spain) Co-rapporteur: Andersen (Employers - GR I / Denmark) Plenary Session: 516 - 27 Apr 2016 - 28 Apr 2016 (Summary Plenary Session)

    The opinion, as adopted by the SOC section, recalled that labour mobility is a cornerstone of the internal market and can help to bring employment opportunities and prosperity to European citizens and companies. When conducted under fair conditions and when it offers a positive option, such mobility can be enriching and beneficial for workers, employers and society as a whole.

    Therefore, special effort is needed to guarantee and promote the free movement of workers in the EU abolishing any discrimination based on nationality, avoiding unjustified restrictions for both workers and businesses.

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Fairer labour mobility within the EU

  • 27 Apr 2016
    Integration of refugees in the EU Adopted References: SOC/532 EESC-2016-00262-00-00-ac-tra Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Schweng (Employers - GR I / Austria) Co-rapporteur: Gkofas (Various interests - GR III / Greece) Plenary Session: 516 - 27 Apr 2016 - 28 Apr 2016 (Summary Plenary Session)

    EU Member States face the arrival of many refugees, who need to be integrated into the host societies once their protected status is granted. The EESC is convinced that integration is a necessity for the preservation of social cohesion. This exploratory opinion, drawn up at the request of the Dutch Presidency of the EU, clarifies the meaning of "integration" and looks at comparability with previous refugee movements, successful integration measures applied in the various EU member states, and the financing of integration measures for refugees, resulting in a set of best practices and recommendations.

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Integration of refugees in the EU

  • 26 Apr 2016
    Common European Asylum System Reform Package Ongoing References: SOC/543 Referral Rapporteur: Moreno Díaz (Workers - GR II / Spain)
  • 26 Apr 2016
    The use of Entry/Exit system Ongoing References: SOC/544 - Rapporteur: Pîrvulescu (Various interests - GR III / Romania)
  • 17 Mar 2016
    Implementing the European Agenda on Security Adopted References: SOC/528 EESC-2016-00019-00-00-ac-tra Referral - Rapporteur: Pîrvulescu (Various interests - GR III / Romania) Plenary Session: 515 - 16 Mar 2016 - 17 Mar 2016 (Summary Plenary Session)

    The opinion concerns two EC proposals, implementing the European Security Agenda: the proposal for a directive on combatting terrorism and the action plan against trafficking in firearms and explosives. The opinion is based on previous EESC work and its usual focus on protection of fundamental rights. The main conclusions concern the common policy against terrorism and the shared competence of the EU and the Member States, as well as the definitions of terrorist acts and types of them, terminology, the issue of anticipated crime and other risks of collision between security and human rights.

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Implementing the European Agenda on Security

  • 15 Mar 2016
    European Pillar of Social Rights Ongoing References: SOC/542 Referral - Rapporteur: Krawczyk (Employers - GR I / Poland), Bischoff (Workers - GR II / Germany), Jahier (Various interests - GR III / Italy)

    Related Documents

    Information memo: European Pillar of Social Rights

  • 15 Mar 2016
    Revision of the Posting of Workers Directive Ongoing References: SOC/541 Referral - Rapporteur: Nygren (Workers-Group II - Italy) & Drbalová (Employers-Group I - Czech Republic)

    Related Documents

    Information memo: Revision of the Posting of Workers Directive

  • 18 Feb 2016
    Fighting poverty Adopted References: SOC/530 EESC-2015-06663-00-03-ac Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Boland (Various interests - GR III / Ireland) Co-rapporteur: Bulk (Workers - GR II / Netherlands) Plenary Session: 514 - 17 Feb 2016 - 18 Feb 2016 (Summary Plenary Session) OJ C 133, 14.4.2016, p. 9–16

    The EESC supports the intention of the Dutch Presidency of the Council to address poverty through integrated approaches and through cooperation between public and private stakeholders. However, to do so, Member States must be supported by a common European framework and best-practice actors by national anti-poverty strategies. The EU Council should reiterate the commitment made to meet Europe's poverty target by 2020.

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Fighting poverty

  • 21 Jan 2016
    Long term social care, labour supply and mobility Ongoing References: SOC/535 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Rogalewski (Workers - GR II / Poland)

    Related Documents

    Information memo: Long term social care, labour supply and mobility

Results 1 to 10 out of 389.