HomePage Banners

EESC President Henri Malosse

President's blog European Elections 22-25 May 2014 - Act. React. Impact.

 

  Logo of CESlink - Online cooperation between Economic and Social Councils Greek Presidency of the Council of the European Union

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

   

 

Opinions

Hide Filters Show Filters

name / number
/
Related
Reset

Results 1 to 10 out of 78.

Archive: 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2005

All | Adopted | Ongoing

  • 25 Mar 2014
    Enhancing the transparency and inclusiveness of the EU accession process Ongoing References: REX/401 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Marina Škrabalo GRIII (Various interests - GR III)

    This own-initiative opinion will draw upon the first-hand experiences of the non-state actors (civil society, business and trade unions) engaged in the accession negotiations between Croatia and the EU over the period 2005-11, as well as experiences of EESC members who have been engaged in the work of Joint Consultative Committees (JCCs) with accession countries over the past seven years (Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey and Montenegro) as well as the Western Balkans Follow-up Committee.

  • 21 Jan 2014
    The Role of Civil Society in the negotiation and implementation of an EU-Japan Free Trade Agreement Ongoing References: REX/389 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Ms Batut (Workers - GR II / France) Co-rapporteur: Ms Påårendson (Employers - GR I / Estonia) This own initiative opinion looks to examine the agreement already under negotiation between EU and Japan (being the third non-European EU trade partner) and in particular its economic, social and environmental consequences. This agreement is not only dealing with trade, but will have on societies expected consequences to be enlightened and taken in account by negotiators. The automobile sector, public procurement, services, agricultural and pharmaceutical products sectors are, among others, concerned.

    Related Documents

    The Role of Civil Society in the negotiation and implementation of an EU-Japan Free Trade Agreement

  • 21 Jan 2014
    European higher education in the world Adopted References: CESE 5751/2013 - REX/391 Referral - COM (2013) 499 final Rapporteur: Mr Mário Soares (Workers - GR II / Portugal) Plenary Session: 495 - 21 Jan 2014 - 22 Jan 2014 The European Commission aims to ensure European graduates gain the international skills they need to work anywhere in the world and that Europe remains the most attractive destination for international students.

    Related Documents

    European higher education in the world

  • 20 Jan 2014
    EU-US Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) Ongoing References: REX/390 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Krawczyk Jacek (Employers - GR I / Poland) Co-rapporteur: Boyle Sandy (Workers - GR II / United Kingdom) The main goal of the opinion is to provide a good and qualitative source of information and opinion in the beginning of TTIP negotiations process.
  • 22 Oct 2013
    European Year of Development (2015) Adopted References: CESE 6639/2013 - REX/392 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Gobiņš (Various interests - GR III / Latvia) Plenary Session: 494 - 10 Dec 2013 - 11 Dec 2013 The aim of the European Year of Development 2015 is to inform EU citizens about EU development cooperation, highlighting what the European Union can already achieve as the biggest aid donor in the world and how it could do even more with the combined strength of its Member States and its institutions.

    Related Documents

    European Year of Development (2015)

  • 17 Oct 2013
    Involvement of the private sector in the post 2015 development framework Adopted References: CESE 4374/2013 - REX/386 Referral Rapporteur: Mr Ivan Voleš (Employers - GR I / Czech Republic) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 Given the EESC specific expertise, the EESC's opinion is particularly sought on the role of the private sector –taking into account its diversity from SMEs to multinational companies- in fostering smart and sustainable economic growth and creating jobs, as well as investing in training, education, research and innovation, key enabling technologies such as information and communication technologies (ICT). Corporate Social Responsibility initiatives, Public-Private Partnerships, joint innovation and inclusive business models could also be issues to be investigated. Possible mechanisms, processes allowing the involvement of the "private sector" in a global partnership for development in a post 2015 framework would also be of interest.

    Related Documents

    Involvement of the private sector in the post 2015 development framework

  • 17 Oct 2013
    EU Aid Volunteers activities Adopted References: CESE 4394/2013 - REX/388 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Giuseppe Iuliano (Workers - GR II / Italy) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 The EESC endorses views expressed in the European Consensus on Humanitarian Aid regarding the objectives and assets of humanitarian action and expresses its conviction that humanitarian aid includes protecting people affected by humanitarian crises, maintaining their dignity and respecting their rights. The Committee stresses the genuine nature of voluntary action which should not be confused with other types of action involving work Volunteer involvement must always be needs-based, following an analysis and assessment of the situation and the needs of populations affected by disasters or complex crises.

    Related Documents

    EU Aid Volunteers activities

  • 17 Oct 2013
    Irregular immigration by sea in the Euro-Mediterranean region Adopted References: CESE 2533/2013 - REX/375 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Panagiotis Gkofas (Various interests - GR III / Greece) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 The opinion will set out civil society's perspective on the dual challenge which EU Member States face in dealing with recent waves of immigrants and at the same time fulfilling - or in some cases failing to fulfil - their duty in guaranteeing immigrants' human rights, be it in detention or whilst on high seas. This issue is particularly topical since the European Commission and European Court of Justice are coming increasingly under pressure to act against Member States that fail to meet EU rules.

    Related Documents

    Irregular immigration by sea in the Euro-Mediterranean region

  • 17 Oct 2013
    Sustainable changes in transition societies Adopted References: CESE 4534/2013 - REX/387 Referral Rapporteur: Mr Gobins (Various interests - GR III / Latvia) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 JO. C.67 06.03.2013

    The EU, its Member States and its civil society are an incredibly rich source of transition experience which should be used better to achieve stability and contribute to sustainable change in transition societies. Democratic change, sustainable development, inclusive economic growth and a stable market, together with improved welfare and employment, can best be underpinned by good governance and a strong rights-based approach. Practice shows that a strong civil society, in particular when organised, is the best guarantee of success.

    Related Documents

    Sustainable changes in transition societies

  • 17 Oct 2013
    Securing essential imports for the EU - through current EU trade and related policies Adopted References: CESE 2070/2013 - REX/383 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Jonathan Peel (Employers - GR I / United Kingdom) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 The opinion will be making recommendations where weaknesses become apparent. Since the EESC proposed this opinion the European Commission has also announced a public hearing on potential EU initiative for responsible sourcing of minerals coming from conflict-affected and high-risk areas – war zones, post-war zones, and areas vulnerable to political instability or civil unrest. The opinion on essential imports could include the EESC contribution to this initiative.

    Related Documents

    Securing essential imports for the EU - through current EU trade and related policies

Results 1 to 10 out of 78.

European Year 2015

Multimedia

RSS Feed
  • Published In: 2014
    2 pages
    The EESC and the Western Balkans

    The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) has developed a dual approach, regional and bilateral, for its relations with civil society organizations (CSOs) of the Western Balkans.

  • Published In: 2013
    16 pages
    Studies carried out in 2012 - Compendium
    Compendium of studies carried out in 2012 on the initiative of the EESC
View All