Opinions - page 1

Hide Filters Show Filters

name / number
/
Related
Reset

Results 1 to 10 out of 84.

Archive: 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2005

All | Adopted | Ongoing

  • 2 Sep 2014
    EU Maritime Security Strategy Ongoing References: REX/402 Referral - JOIN(2014) 9 final Rapporteur: Ms Anna Bredima (Employers - GR I / Greece)

    An EU maritime security strategy would facilitate a strategic, cross-sectoral approach to maritime security, without seeking to create new structures, programmes or legislation, but instead striving to build upon and strengthen existing achievements, at the same time ensuring consistency with existing EU policies.

    Related Documents

    EU Maritime Security Strategy

  • 2 Sep 2014
    European immigration policies Ongoing References: REX/414 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Giuseppe Iuliano (Workers - GR II / Italy)

    The aim of the opinion is to call on the representatives of the European Community institutions and national government to take account of the key role of the social partners and organised civil society in providing European immigration policies with a social dimension and added value.

  • 1 Jul 2014
    European Immigration policy and relationship with third countries Adopted References: CESE 873/2014 - REX/398 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Panagiotis Gkofas (Various interests - GR III / Greece) Co-rapporteur: Mr Pariza Castaños (Workers - GR II / Spain) Plenary Session: 500 - 9 Jul 2014 - 10 Jul 2014

    The exploratory opinion is being drawn up at the request of the Greek Presidency of the European Union. Immigration-related issues remain a key challenge for the European Union and its Member States with a comprehensive and common strategy at EU level remaining elusive, in spite of the continued pressures that are being felt on the EU's borders.

    Related Documents

    European Immigration policy and relationship with third countries

  • 26 Jun 2014
    Enhancing the transparency and inclusiveness of the EU accession process Adopted References: CESE 1609/2014 - REX/401 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Marina Škrabalo GRIII (Various interests - GR III) Plenary Session: 500 - 9 Jul 2014 - 10 Jul 2014

    This own-initiative opinion will draw upon the first-hand experiences of the non-state actors (civil society, business and trade unions) engaged in the accession negotiations between Croatia and the EU over the period 2005-11, as well as experiences of EESC members who have been engaged in the work of Joint Consultative Committees (JCCs) with accession countries over the past seven years (Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey and Montenegro) as well as the Western Balkans Follow-up Committee.

    Related Documents

    Enhancing the transparency and inclusiveness of the EU accession process

  • 23 Jun 2014
    The post 2015 Hyogo Framework for Action: Managing risks to achieve resilience Adopted References: CESE 2826/2014 - REX/407 Referral - COM(2014) 216 final, SWD(2014) 133 final and SWD(2014) 134 final Rapporteur: Mr Giuseppe Iuliano (Workers - GR II / Italy) Plenary Session: 500 - 9 Jul 2014 - 10 Jul 2014

    The EESC has been requested by the Commission to prepare an Opinion which will contribute to shaping the EU position on the post 2015 HFA to be presented during the UN-led negotiations in July and November this year. The Committee's Opinion will be important given that the Commission Communication proposes involvement of civil society and private sector in decision making and implementation of actions related to disaster risk management within the post 2015 HFA.

    Related Documents

    The post 2015 Hyogo Framework for Action: Managing risks to achieve resilience

  • 27 May 2014
    Transatlantic trade relations and the EESC's views on an enhanced cooperation and eventual EU-US FTA Adopted References: CESE 5469/2014 - REX/390 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Krawczyk Jacek (Employers - GR I / Poland) Co-rapporteur: Boyle Sandy (Workers - GR II / United Kingdom)

    The main goal of the opinion is to provide a good and qualitative source of information and opinion in the beginning of TTIP negotiations process.

    Related Documents

    Transatlantic trade relations and the EESC's views on an enhanced cooperation and eventual EU-US FTA

  • 25 Mar 2014
    Situation of civil society organisations in Turkey Ongoing References: REX/397 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Arno METZLER (Various interests - GR III / Germany)

    The recommendations of the opinion will provide guidelines to the other EU institutions, especially to the Commission, on how to better support Turkish civil society organisations and improve their working conditions.

    Related Documents

    Situation of civil society organisations in Turkey

  • 21 Jan 2014
    The Role of Civil Society in the negotiation and implementation of an EU-Japan Free Trade Agreement Ongoing References: REX/389 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Ms Batut (Workers - GR II / France) Co-rapporteur: Ms Påårendson (Employers - GR I / Estonia) This own initiative opinion looks to examine the agreement already under negotiation between EU and Japan (being the third non-European EU trade partner) and in particular its economic, social and environmental consequences. This agreement is not only dealing with trade, but will have on societies expected consequences to be enlightened and taken in account by negotiators. The automobile sector, public procurement, services, agricultural and pharmaceutical products sectors are, among others, concerned.

    Related Documents

    The Role of Civil Society in the negotiation and implementation of an EU-Japan Free Trade Agreement

  • 21 Jan 2014
    Combating forced labour in the EU and the world: the role of the EU – the EESC's contribution to the 2014 ILO conference Adopted References: CESE 561/2014 - REX/395 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Ms Ouin (Workers - GR II / France) Plenary Session: 498 - 29 Apr 2014 - 30 Apr 2014

    The ILO Governing Body in March 2013 has decided to include a discussion on the adoption of a Protocol to complement the Convention on Forced Labour and labour trafficking at the International Labour Conference in June 2014. For the EESC, taking into account the existence of forced labour and trafficking in many European and third countries, an own initiative opinion would be a strong political signal to the EU institutions and to the Member States.

    Related Documents

    Combating forced labour in the EU and the world: the role of the EU – the EESC's contribution to the 2014 ILO conference

  • 21 Jan 2014
    European higher education in the world Adopted References: CESE 5751/2013 - REX/391 Referral - COM (2013) 499 final Rapporteur: Mr Mário Soares (Workers - GR II / Portugal) Plenary Session: 495 - 21 Jan 2014 - 22 Jan 2014 The European Commission aims to ensure European graduates gain the international skills they need to work anywhere in the world and that Europe remains the most attractive destination for international students.

    Related Documents

    European higher education in the world

Results 1 to 10 out of 84.

Multimedia

RSS Feed
  • Published In: 2014
    2 pages
    The EESC and the Western Balkans

    The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) has developed a dual approach, regional and bilateral, for its relations with civil society organizations (CSOs) of the Western Balkans.

  • Published In: 2013
    16 pages
    Studies carried out in 2012 - Compendium
    Compendium of studies carried out in 2012 on the initiative of the EESC
View All