Opinions from the REX section - page 1

Hide Filters Show Filters

name / number
/
Related
Reset

Results 1 to 10 out of 89.

Archive: 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2005

All | Adopted | Ongoing

  • 9 Oct 2014
    The Economic and Social Situation of young people in the Euromed region Adopted References: REX/399 Rapporteur: Mr Narro Pedro (Various interests - GR III / Spain)

    The information report will seek to take a holistic approach to situation of young people in the north and south of the region, looking not just at the employment market but at wider trends amongst young people also outside of work, their self-perception, their political and social outlook on the future, their living arrangements, their view of their parents' generation and other older generations, as well as their view of the region and its role in a globalised world.

    Related Documents

    The Economic and Social Situation of young people in the Euromed region

  • 9 Oct 2014
    Situation of Ukrainian civil society in the context of European aspirations of Ukraine Adopted References: REX/403 Referral Rapporteur: Adamczyk Andrzej (Workers - GR II / Poland)

    At the Vilnius Summit, which took place on 28-29 November 2013, it was expected that Ukraine, as the first of the EaP countries, would sign the Association Agreement, including Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area, with the European Union. However, the Ukrainian Government, rather unexpectedly, took the decision to temporarily suspend the process of preparations for signature of the Association Agreement. This decision caused political turmoil and instability in the whole country, with, to this day, far-reaching political consequences.

    Related Documents

    Situation of Ukrainian civil society in the context of European aspirations of Ukraine

  • 29 Sep 2014
    Civil Society in Russia Ongoing References: REX/400 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Ms Mall Hellam (Various interests - GR III / Estonia)

    The objective of the own-initiative opinion is to analyse the state of affairs of civil society in Russia and to elaborate recommendations on how the EU and EU civil society organization can contribute for improving the working conditions for civil society organizations in Russia and for the strengthening of genuine civil and social dialogue.

    Related Documents

    Civil Society in Russia

  • 29 Sep 2014
    Role for sustainable development and civil society involvement in stand-alone EU investment agreements with third countries Ongoing References: REX/410 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Jonathan PEEL (Employers - GR I / United Kingdom)

    The EESC opinion will be dedicated to standalone investment agreements, with a particular emphasis on issues related to sustainable development and civil society involvement. It will contribute to the on-going discussion on the content and level of ambition of sustainable development chapters in the EU standalone investment agreements, as well as on civil society role in the course of negotiations and at the implementation stage.

    Related Documents

    Role for sustainable development and civil society involvement in stand-alone EU investment agreements with third countries

  • 29 Sep 2014
    Strategy for the protection and enforcement of intellectual property rights in third countries Ongoing References: REX/416 Referral - COM (2014) 389 final Rapporteur: Mr Jacques Lemercier (Workers - GR II / France)

    The main policy objective is to reduce the level of IPR infringements outside the EU – which detrimentally affect EU right holders – while better tailoring our action so as to also take account of specific challenges and needs of for example developing countries.

    Related Documents

    Strategy for the protection and enforcement of intellectual property rights in third countries

  • 2 Sep 2014
    EU Maritime Security Strategy Adopted References: REX/402 Referral - JOIN(2014) 9 final Rapporteur: Ms Anna Bredima (Employers - GR I / Greece)

    An EU maritime security strategy would facilitate a strategic, cross-sectoral approach to maritime security, without seeking to create new structures, programmes or legislation, but instead striving to build upon and strengthen existing achievements, at the same time ensuring consistency with existing EU policies.

     

    Related Documents

    EU Maritime Security Strategy

  • 2 Sep 2014
    European immigration policies Adopted References: REX/414 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Giuseppe Iuliano (Workers - GR II / Italy)

    The aim of the opinion is to call on the representatives of the European Community institutions and national government to take account of the key role of the social partners and organised civil society in providing European immigration policies with a social dimension and added value.

     

    Related Documents

    European immigration policies

  • 1 Jul 2014
    European Immigration policy and relationship with third countries Adopted References: CESE 873/2014 - REX/398 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Panagiotis Gkofas (Various interests - GR III / Greece) Co-rapporteur: Mr Pariza Castaños (Workers - GR II / Spain) Plenary Session: 500 - 9 Jul 2014 - 10 Jul 2014

    The exploratory opinion is being drawn up at the request of the Greek Presidency of the European Union. Immigration-related issues remain a key challenge for the European Union and its Member States with a comprehensive and common strategy at EU level remaining elusive, in spite of the continued pressures that are being felt on the EU's borders.

    Related Documents

    European Immigration policy and relationship with third countries

  • 26 Jun 2014
    Enhancing the transparency and inclusiveness of the EU accession process Adopted References: CESE 1609/2014 - REX/401 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Marina Škrabalo GRIII (Various interests - GR III) Plenary Session: 500 - 9 Jul 2014 - 10 Jul 2014

    This own-initiative opinion will draw upon the first-hand experiences of the non-state actors (civil society, business and trade unions) engaged in the accession negotiations between Croatia and the EU over the period 2005-11, as well as experiences of EESC members who have been engaged in the work of Joint Consultative Committees (JCCs) with accession countries over the past seven years (Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey and Montenegro) as well as the Western Balkans Follow-up Committee.

    Related Documents

    Enhancing the transparency and inclusiveness of the EU accession process

  • 23 Jun 2014
    The post 2015 Hyogo Framework for Action: Managing risks to achieve resilience Adopted References: CESE 2826/2014 - REX/407 Referral - COM(2014) 216 final, SWD(2014) 133 final and SWD(2014) 134 final Rapporteur: Mr Giuseppe Iuliano (Workers - GR II / Italy) Plenary Session: 500 - 9 Jul 2014 - 10 Jul 2014

    The EESC has been requested by the Commission to prepare an Opinion which will contribute to shaping the EU position on the post 2015 HFA to be presented during the UN-led negotiations in July and November this year. The Committee's Opinion will be important given that the Commission Communication proposes involvement of civil society and private sector in decision making and implementation of actions related to disaster risk management within the post 2015 HFA.

    Related Documents

    The post 2015 Hyogo Framework for Action: Managing risks to achieve resilience

Results 1 to 10 out of 89.

Multimedia - REX section

RSS Feed
  • Published In: 2014
    2 pages
    The EESC and the Western Balkans

    The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) has developed a dual approach, regional and bilateral, for its relations with civil society organizations (CSOs) of the Western Balkans.

  • Published In: 2013
    16 pages
    Studies carried out in 2012 - Compendium
    Compendium of studies carried out in 2012 on the initiative of the EESC
View All