HomePage Banners

EESC President Henri Malosse

President's blog


  Logo of CESlink - Online cooperation between Economic and Social Councils Italian Presidency of the Council of the European Union

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional




Staffan Nilsson and the three Group Presidents of the EESC at the 8th anniversary of the Bulgarian Economic and Social Council

12 Dec 2011

The EESC President Staffan Nilsson together with the EESC three Group Presidents and other members of the European consultative body attended the ceremony marking the 8th anniversary of the Economic and Social Council in Bulgaria, in the presence of Bulgaria's President Mr. Georgi Parvanov. The event attracted an important participation from civil society, government and media attention.

Bulgarian ESC is a body that provides impetus for the whole EU network of national ESCs. It has already organized or co-organized many successful initiatives, all of which have focused on issues which are at the core of the EU agenda and have enjoyed the enthusiastic participation of many ESCs, stated Staffan Nilsson in his intervention during the anniversary event.

Lalko Dulevski, chairman of the Bulgarian Economic and Social Council (ESC) and EESC member also added that Bulgaria was the first country of 12 member states from the fifth enlargement that managed to set up and successfully develop the Economic and Social Council (ESC) following the structure and framework of the European Economic and Social Committee.

At the end of the ceremony Mr. Lulko Dulevski conferred the Honorary Award of the Economic and Social Council for Contribution to the Development of Organised Civil Society in Bulgaria to the EESC President Staffan Nilsson, as well as to the other EESC group leaders and members.

EU Feeds

Latest news from other EU Institutions


Read more on the Europa website.