Opinions on External relations: Enlargement / EU Neighbours - page 1

Results 1 to 10 out of 43.

  • 1 Jul 2014
    European Immigration policy and relationship with third countries Adopted References: CESE 873/2014 - REX/398 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Panagiotis Gkofas (Various interests - GR III / Greece) Co-rapporteur: Mr Pariza Castaños (Workers - GR II / Spain) Plenary Session: 500 - 9 Jul 2014 - 10 Jul 2014

    The exploratory opinion is being drawn up at the request of the Greek Presidency of the European Union. Immigration-related issues remain a key challenge for the European Union and its Member States with a comprehensive and common strategy at EU level remaining elusive, in spite of the continued pressures that are being felt on the EU's borders.

  • 26 Jun 2014
    Enhancing the transparency and inclusiveness of the EU accession process Adopted References: CESE 1609/2014 - REX/401 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Marina Škrabalo GRIII (Various interests - GR III) Plenary Session: 500 - 9 Jul 2014 - 10 Jul 2014

    This own-initiative opinion will draw upon the first-hand experiences of the non-state actors (civil society, business and trade unions) engaged in the accession negotiations between Croatia and the EU over the period 2005-11, as well as experiences of EESC members who have been engaged in the work of Joint Consultative Committees (JCCs) with accession countries over the past seven years (Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey and Montenegro) as well as the Western Balkans Follow-up Committee.

  • 23 Jun 2014
    The post 2015 Hyogo Framework for Action: Managing risks to achieve resilience Adopted References: CESE 2826/2014 - REX/407 Referral - COM(2014) 216 final, SWD(2014) 133 final and SWD(2014) 134 final Rapporteur: Mr Giuseppe Iuliano (Workers - GR II / Italy) Plenary Session: 500 - 9 Jul 2014 - 10 Jul 2014

    The EESC has been requested by the Commission to prepare an Opinion which will contribute to shaping the EU position on the post 2015 HFA to be presented during the UN-led negotiations in July and November this year. The Committee's Opinion will be important given that the Commission Communication proposes involvement of civil society and private sector in decision making and implementation of actions related to disaster risk management within the post 2015 HFA.

  • 25 Mar 2014
    EU Maritime Security Strategy Ongoing References: REX/402 Referral - JOIN(2014) 9 final Rapporteur: Ms Anna Bredima (Employers - GR I / Greece)

    An EU maritime security strategy would facilitate a strategic, cross-sectoral approach to maritime security, without seeking to create new structures, programmes or legislation, but instead striving to build upon and strengthen existing achievements, at the same time ensuring consistency with existing EU policies.

  • 21 Jan 2014
    Combating forced labour in the EU and the world: the role of the EU – the EESC's contribution to the 2014 ILO conference Adopted References: CESE 561/2014 - REX/395 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Ms Ouin (Workers - GR II / France) Plenary Session: 498 - 29 Apr 2014 - 30 Apr 2014

    The ILO Governing Body in March 2013 has decided to include a discussion on the adoption of a Protocol to complement the Convention on Forced Labour and labour trafficking at the International Labour Conference in June 2014. For the EESC, taking into account the existence of forced labour and trafficking in many European and third countries, an own initiative opinion would be a strong political signal to the EU institutions and to the Member States.

  • 21 Jan 2014
    European higher education in the world Adopted References: CESE 5751/2013 - REX/391 Referral - COM (2013) 499 final Rapporteur: Mr Mário Soares (Workers - GR II / Portugal) Plenary Session: 495 - 21 Jan 2014 - 22 Jan 2014 The European Commission aims to ensure European graduates gain the international skills they need to work anywhere in the world and that Europe remains the most attractive destination for international students.
  • 17 Oct 2013
    Involvement of the private sector in the post 2015 development framework Adopted References: CESE 4374/2013 - REX/386 Referral Rapporteur: Mr Ivan Voleš (Employers - GR I / Czech Republic) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013

    Given the EESC specific expertise, the EESC's opinion is particularly sought on the role of the private sector –taking into account its diversity from SMEs to multinational companies- in fostering smart and sustainable economic growth and creating jobs, as well as investing in training, education, research and innovation, key enabling technologies such as information and communication technologies (ICT). Corporate Social Responsibility initiatives, Public-Private Partnerships, joint innovation and inclusive business models could also be issues to be investigated. Possible mechanisms, processes allowing the involvement of the "private sector" in a global partnership for development in a post 2015 framework would also be of interest.

  • 17 Oct 2013
    EU Aid Volunteers activities Adopted References: CESE 4394/2013 - REX/388 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Giuseppe Iuliano (Workers - GR II / Italy) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 The EESC endorses views expressed in the European Consensus on Humanitarian Aid regarding the objectives and assets of humanitarian action and expresses its conviction that humanitarian aid includes protecting people affected by humanitarian crises, maintaining their dignity and respecting their rights. The Committee stresses the genuine nature of voluntary action which should not be confused with other types of action involving work Volunteer involvement must always be needs-based, following an analysis and assessment of the situation and the needs of populations affected by disasters or complex crises.
  • 17 Oct 2013
    Irregular immigration by sea in the Euro-Mediterranean region Adopted References: CESE 2533/2013 - REX/375 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Panagiotis Gkofas (Various interests - GR III / Greece) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013

    The opinion will set out civil society's perspective on the dual challenge which EU Member States face in dealing with recent waves of immigrants and at the same time fulfilling - or in some cases failing to fulfil - their duty in guaranteeing immigrants' human rights, be it in detention or whilst on high seas. This issue is particularly topical since the European Commission and European Court of Justice are coming increasingly under pressure to act against Member States that fail to meet EU rules.

  • 17 Oct 2013
    Securing essential imports for the EU - through current EU trade and related policies Adopted References: CESE 2070/2013 - REX/383 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Jonathan Peel (Employers - GR I / United Kingdom) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 The opinion will be making recommendations where weaknesses become apparent. Since the EESC proposed this opinion the European Commission has also announced a public hearing on potential EU initiative for responsible sourcing of minerals coming from conflict-affected and high-risk areas – war zones, post-war zones, and areas vulnerable to political instability or civil unrest. The opinion on essential imports could include the EESC contribution to this initiative.

Results 1 to 10 out of 43.