Opinions on External relations: Enlargement / EU Neighbours - page 1

Results 1 to 10 out of 70.

  • 28 Apr 2016
    The external dimension of the EU's energy policy Adopted References: REX/459 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Vitas MACIULIS (Various interests - GR III / Lithuania)

    The EESC already produced an opinion on the same topic in January 2009 (see 'Related EESC Opinions'), but the geo-political developments over the past 7 years (Arab spring, increased tensions with Russia over the Eastern Partnership, crises in the Middle East, fluctuating oil prices) and other economic and technical factors (level of oil prices, new LNG terminals, debate around fracking, etc.) suggest a revision of this opinion.

    **************The opinion is being translated - available soon*******************

  • 28 Apr 2016
    EESC opinion: The new EU strategy on foreign and security policy Adopted References: REX/463-01061-00-01-AC-TRA Own-initiative Rapporteur: José María Zufiaur Narvaiza (Workers - GR II / Spain) Plenary Session: 516 - 27 Apr 2016 - 28 Apr 2016

    With this Opinion, the EESC wishes to weigh in on the new EU Strategy on Foreign and Security Policy, which is expected to be presented to the Council before the summer. The rapporteur argues that internal and external policy are intertwined and both require better coordination of policies, objectives and resources. Social exclusion today is a key factor in crises, and the EU must be a defender of equality and a promoter of freedom, security and prosperity.

    The Opinion goes on to address the wide range and crucial nature of topics that the new strategy will cover, such as resource allocation to foreign and defense policy, the EU's role as a constructive and regulatory power, the refugee crisis, development cooperation, or trade.

    Finally, the rapporteur calls on an increased participation of civil society in the EU's foreign policy, proposing the establishment of a formal cooperation between the EESC and the EEAS, an annual foreign a security policy audition with the High Representative, and carrying out an evaluation report on the participation of civil society in the EU's external policy.

    Related Documents

    EESC section opinion: The new EU strategy on foreign and security policy

  • 21 Jan 2016
    The 2030 Agenda - European Union committed to sustainable development goals globally Ongoing References: REX/461 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Ioannis Vardakastanis (Various interests - GR III / Greece)

    The 2030 Agenda is an action plan for people, planet and prosperity. It sets 17 Sustainable Development Goals and 169 targets in order to build on the Millennium Development Goals and complete what these did not achieve. The targets seek to ensure everyone's human rights and to achieve gender equality and the empowerment of all women and girls. They are integrated and indivisible, and they balance the three dimensions of sustainable development: economic, social and environmental. They are also to be implemented according to the principle of "leaving no-one behind".

     

    The own-initiative opinion will approach the 2030 Agenda by focusing on how the EU could contribute by using its external action instruments that are linked to funding; on the EU's contribution to defining indicators; on coordination mechanisms and the involvement of civil society; and on the implications for the EU of implementing the principle of "leaving no-one behind".

  • 19 Jan 2016
    Decent work in global supply chains Ongoing References: REX/462 Rapporteur: Ms Emmanuelle Butaud-Stubbs (Employers - GR I / France)

    The opinion will serve as a contribution by the EESC to the general discussion on decent work in global supply chains (GSCs) planned for the June 2016 International Labour Conference of the International Labour Organisation in Geneva. It will also contribute to the EU debate. The current EU Dutch Presidency (the first semester of 2016), as well as the European Commission (in the EU trade and investment strategy "Trade for all") put an emphasis on responsible management of GSCs, which includes respect for human rights, labour and environmental standards.

    Related Documents

    Decent work in global supply chains

  • 10 Dec 2015
    EU Action Plan against migrant smuggling (2015-2020) Adopted References: REX/452 EESC-2015 Referral - Rapporteur: Ms Brenda King (Employers - GR I / United Kingdom) Plenary Session: 512 - 9 Dec 2015 - 10 Dec 2015 (Summary Plenary Session)

    The EESC welcomes the stated aims of the EU Action Plan against migrant smuggling , namely "to counter and prevent migrant smuggling, while ensuring the protection of human rights of migrants" and "to address the root causes of irregular migration", and supports the Action Plan's efforts to disrupt organised criminal networks through intelligence-led and financial investigations, to put an end to money laundering and to confiscate the assets of illicit activities. However it strongly recommends that the plan adopts a more balanced and comprehensive approach by detailing how the EU will protect and assist those who are smuggled.

    Related Documents

    EU Action Plan against migrant smuggling (2015-2020)

  • 7 Dec 2015
    Establishing a european list of safe countries of origin Adopted References: REX/457 EESC-2015-5379 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr José Antonio MORENO DIAZ (Workers - GR II / Spain) Plenary Session: 512 - 9 Dec 2015 - 10 Dec 2015 (Summary Plenary Session) J.O. C 71, 24.02.2016 p.82

    The European Commission presented a comprehensive European Agenda on Migration on 13 May 2015, outlining, in addition to the immediate measures proposed shortly thereafter by the Commission to respond to the crisis situation in the Mediterranean, further initiatives that need to be taken to provide structural solutions for better managing migration in all its aspects.

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Establishing a european list of safe countries of origin

  • 23 Jun 2015
    Towards a new European neighbourhood policy Adopted References: REX/447 EESC-2015 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr Gintaras Morkis (Employers - GR I / Lithuania) Co-rapporteur: Mr Cristian Pîrvulescu (Various interests - GR III / Romania) Plenary Session: 509 - 1 Jul 2015 - 2 Jul 2015 (Summary Plenary Session) JO C 383 17.11.2015, p. 91

    The Neighbourhood policy is high on the agenda of the EESC's external relations priorities. This opinion will provide the contribution of the Committee to this consultation process as a first step, to be followed by a reaction to the Commission document that will be issued in the 2nd semester of 2015.

     

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Towards a new European neighbourhood policy

  • 28 May 2015
    How media is used to influence social and political processes in the EU and Eastern neighbouring countries Adopted References: REX/432 EESC-2015-7333 Rapporteur: Indrė Vareikytė (Various interests - GR III / Lithuania) Plenary Session: 508 - 27 May 2015 - 28 May 2015

    The recent flow of disinformation in Europe, following the crisis in Ukraine, has underlined the need to consider the influence it has on social and political processes in the EU and the Eastern neighbouring countries. The impact caused by disinformation is often underestimated, as heavily funded disinformation is being spread not only via media, but also through cultural channels and public figures; its presence is strong and influential in the lives of European citizens, especially in Eastern Europe.

    Related Documents

    How media is used to influence social and political processes in the EU and Eastern neighbouring countries

  • 10 Apr 2015
    Energy - a factor for development and a deeper accession process in the Western Balkans Adopted References: REX/440 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Pierre Jean Coulon (Workers - GR II / France)
  • 18 Mar 2015
    Protection against the effects of the extra-territorial application of legislation adopted by a third country Adopted References: REX/444 Referral - Plenary Session: 506 - 18 Mar 2015 - 19 Mar 2015

    Opinion on the Proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council protecting against the effects of the extra-territorial application of legislation adopted by a third country and actions based thereon or resulting therefrom (recast)

    Related Documents

    Protection against the effects of the extra-territorial application of legislation adopted by a third country

Results 1 to 10 out of 70.