HomePage Banners

EESC President Henri Malosse

President's blog European Elections 22-25 May 2014 - Act. React. Impact.

 

  Logo of CESlink - Online cooperation between Economic and Social Councils Greek Presidency of the Council of the European Union

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

   

 

Opinions on External relations: Enlargement / EU Neighbours

Results 1 to 10 out of 39.

  • 25 Mar 2014
    Enhancing the transparency and inclusiveness of the EU accession process Ongoing References: REX/401 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Marina Škrabalo GRIII (Various interests - GR III)

    This own-initiative opinion will draw upon the first-hand experiences of the non-state actors (civil society, business and trade unions) engaged in the accession negotiations between Croatia and the EU over the period 2005-11, as well as experiences of EESC members who have been engaged in the work of Joint Consultative Committees (JCCs) with accession countries over the past seven years (Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey and Montenegro) as well as the Western Balkans Follow-up Committee.

  • 21 Jan 2014
    European higher education in the world Adopted References: CESE 5751/2013 - REX/391 Referral - COM (2013) 499 final Rapporteur: Mr Mário Soares (Workers - GR II / Portugal) Plenary Session: 495 - 21 Jan 2014 - 22 Jan 2014 The European Commission aims to ensure European graduates gain the international skills they need to work anywhere in the world and that Europe remains the most attractive destination for international students.
  • 17 Oct 2013
    Involvement of the private sector in the post 2015 development framework Adopted References: CESE 4374/2013 - REX/386 Referral Rapporteur: Mr Ivan Voleš (Employers - GR I / Czech Republic) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 Given the EESC specific expertise, the EESC's opinion is particularly sought on the role of the private sector –taking into account its diversity from SMEs to multinational companies- in fostering smart and sustainable economic growth and creating jobs, as well as investing in training, education, research and innovation, key enabling technologies such as information and communication technologies (ICT). Corporate Social Responsibility initiatives, Public-Private Partnerships, joint innovation and inclusive business models could also be issues to be investigated. Possible mechanisms, processes allowing the involvement of the "private sector" in a global partnership for development in a post 2015 framework would also be of interest.
  • 17 Oct 2013
    EU Aid Volunteers activities Adopted References: CESE 4394/2013 - REX/388 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Giuseppe Iuliano (Workers - GR II / Italy) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 The EESC endorses views expressed in the European Consensus on Humanitarian Aid regarding the objectives and assets of humanitarian action and expresses its conviction that humanitarian aid includes protecting people affected by humanitarian crises, maintaining their dignity and respecting their rights. The Committee stresses the genuine nature of voluntary action which should not be confused with other types of action involving work Volunteer involvement must always be needs-based, following an analysis and assessment of the situation and the needs of populations affected by disasters or complex crises.
  • 17 Oct 2013
    Irregular immigration by sea in the Euro-Mediterranean region Adopted References: CESE 2533/2013 - REX/375 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Panagiotis Gkofas (Various interests - GR III / Greece) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 The opinion will set out civil society's perspective on the dual challenge which EU Member States face in dealing with recent waves of immigrants and at the same time fulfilling - or in some cases failing to fulfil - their duty in guaranteeing immigrants' human rights, be it in detention or whilst on high seas. This issue is particularly topical since the European Commission and European Court of Justice are coming increasingly under pressure to act against Member States that fail to meet EU rules.
  • 17 Oct 2013
    Securing essential imports for the EU - through current EU trade and related policies Adopted References: CESE 2070/2013 - REX/383 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Jonathan Peel (Employers - GR I / United Kingdom) Plenary Session: 493 - 16 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013 The opinion will be making recommendations where weaknesses become apparent. Since the EESC proposed this opinion the European Commission has also announced a public hearing on potential EU initiative for responsible sourcing of minerals coming from conflict-affected and high-risk areas – war zones, post-war zones, and areas vulnerable to political instability or civil unrest. The opinion on essential imports could include the EESC contribution to this initiative.
  • 10 Jul 2013
    The role of civil society in EU-Serbia relations Adopted References: CESE 1176/2013 - REX/381 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Ionut Sibian (Various interests - GR III / Romania) Co-rapporteur: Mr Christoph Lechner (Workers - GR II / Austria) Plenary Session: 491 - 10 Jul 2013 - 11 Jul 2013

    The opinion should take stock of the current situation of civil society in Serbia (legal environment, relations with the authorities, situation of social and civil dialogues) and propose recommendations for possible EU action in this field. The opinion will provide an opportunity to get the views of Serbian civil society organisations in the course of a study visit to Serbia.

  • 13 May 2013
    EU-Morocco Trade Relations Adopted References: CESE 3361/2013 - REX/378 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Pedro Narro (Various interests - GR III / Spain) Co-rapporteur: Mr Juan Moreno Preciado (Workers - GR II / Spain) Plenary Session: 496 - 26 Feb 2014 - 27 Feb 2014

    The opinion will seek to examine how trade relations with the region can best be developed by means of a first example country, which is Morocco. Trade relations with Morocco stand out as a priority because the EU currently has the closest trade links with Morocco of all the countries in the region.

  • 18 Feb 2013
    EU Arctic Policy to address globally emerging interests in the region – a view of civil society Adopted References: REX/371 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Filip Hamro-Drotz (Employers - GR I / Finland) Plenary Session: 489 - 17 Apr 2013 - 18 Apr 2013 The opinion will look at the issues related to economic, social, environmental and human dimensions of the growing use of the Arctic wealth, potential role of the civil society in voicing the interests of the groups involved as well as in supporting the position of the EU in the dialogue with international partners concerned.
  • 19 Sep 2012
    Combating corruption in the southern Mediterranean Adopted References: CESE 1426/2012 - REX/353 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Juan Moreno Preciado (Workers - GR II / Spain) Plenary Session: 483 - 18 Sep 2012 - 19 Sep 2012

Results 1 to 10 out of 39.