Opinions on External relations: Enlargement / EU Neighbours - page 1

Results 1 to 10 out of 67.

  • 4 Feb 2016
    The new EU strategy on foreign and security policy Ongoing References: REX/463 Own-initiative Rapporteur: José María Zufiaur Narvaiza (Workers - GR II / Spain)
  • 19 Jan 2016
    Decent work in global supply chains Ongoing References: REX/462 Rapporteur: Ms Emmanuelle Butaud-Stubbs (Employers - GR I / France)

    The opinion will serve as a contribution by the EESC to the general discussion on decent work in global supply chains (GSCs) planned for the June 2016 International Labour Conference of the International Labour Organisation in Geneva. It will also contribute to the EU debate. The current EU Dutch Presidency (the first semester of 2016), as well as the European Commission (in the EU trade and investment strategy "Trade for all") put an emphasis on responsible management of GSCs, which includes respect for human rights, labour and environmental standards.

  • 10 Dec 2015
    EU Action Plan against migrant smuggling (2015-2020) Adopted References: REX/452 EESC-2015 Referral - Rapporteur: Ms Brenda King (Employers - GR I / United Kingdom) Plenary Session: 512 - 9 Dec 2015 - 10 Dec 2015 (Summary Plenary Session)

    The EESC welcomes the stated aims of the EU Action Plan against migrant smuggling , namely "to counter and prevent migrant smuggling, while ensuring the protection of human rights of migrants" and "to address the root causes of irregular migration", and supports the Action Plan's efforts to disrupt organised criminal networks through intelligence-led and financial investigations, to put an end to money laundering and to confiscate the assets of illicit activities. However it strongly recommends that the plan adopts a more balanced and comprehensive approach by detailing how the EU will protect and assist those who are smuggled.

  • 7 Dec 2015
    Establishing a european list of safe countries of origin Adopted References: REX/457 EESC-2015-5379 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr José Antonio MORENO DIAZ (Workers - GR II / Spain) Plenary Session: 512 - 9 Dec 2015 - 10 Dec 2015 (Summary Plenary Session)

    The European Commission presented a comprehensive European Agenda on Migration on 13 May 2015, outlining, in addition to the immediate measures proposed shortly thereafter by the Commission to respond to the crisis situation in the Mediterranean, further initiatives that need to be taken to provide structural solutions for better managing migration in all its aspects.

  • 23 Jun 2015
    Towards a new European neighbourhood policy Adopted References: REX/447 EESC-2015 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr Gintaras Morkis (Employers - GR I / Lithuania) Co-rapporteur: Mr Cristian Pîrvulescu (Various interests - GR III / Romania) Plenary Session: 509 - 1 Jul 2015 - 2 Jul 2015 (Summary Plenary Session)

    The Neighbourhood policy is high on the agenda of the EESC's external relations priorities. This opinion will provide the contribution of the Committee to this consultation process as a first step, to be followed by a reaction to the Commission document that will be issued in the 2nd semester of 2015.

     

  • 28 May 2015
    How media is used to influence social and political processes in the EU and Eastern neighbouring countries Adopted References: REX/432 EESC-2015-7333 Rapporteur: Indrė Vareikytė (Various interests - GR III / Lithuania) Plenary Session: 508 - 27 May 2015 - 28 May 2015

    The recent flow of disinformation in Europe, following the crisis in Ukraine, has underlined the need to consider the influence it has on social and political processes in the EU and the Eastern neighbouring countries. The impact caused by disinformation is often underestimated, as heavily funded disinformation is being spread not only via media, but also through cultural channels and public figures; its presence is strong and influential in the lives of European citizens, especially in Eastern Europe.

  • 10 Apr 2015
    Energy - a factor for development and a deeper accession process in the Western Balkans Adopted References: REX/440 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Pierre Jean Coulon (Workers - GR II / France)
  • 18 Mar 2015
    Protection against the effects of the extra-territorial application of legislation adopted by a third country Adopted References: REX/444 Referral - Plenary Session: 506 - 18 Mar 2015 - 19 Mar 2015

    Opinion on the Proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council protecting against the effects of the extra-territorial application of legislation adopted by a third country and actions based thereon or resulting therefrom (recast)

  • 13 Feb 2015
    The role of the EIDHR in democratic transition – Tunisia, a case study Adopted References: REX/442 EESC-2015-659 Rapporteur: Ms Madi Sharma (Employers - GR I / United Kingdom)

    The Information report will explore the model and its success factors, and will provide recommendations for promoting its use in EU financial instruments supporting democracy and Human Rights, as well as for the EESC's structural relations with organised civil society in other countries in the region.

  • 21 Jan 2015
    Antidumping measures Adopted References: REX/434 Referral - Plenary Session: 504 - 21 Jan 2015 - 22 Jan 2015

    Opinion on the Proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council on measures that the Union may take in relation to the combined effect of anti-dumping or anti-subsidy measures with safeguard measures (codification)

Results 1 to 10 out of 67.