HomePage Banners

EESC President Henri Malosse

President's blog European Elections 22-25 May 2014 - Act. React. Impact.

 

  Logo of CESlink - Online cooperation between Economic and Social Councils Greek Presidency of the Council of the European Union

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

   

 

-

Conference - Poland

Opinions

Results 1 to 10 out of 48.

  • 20 Jan 2014
    Industrial Policy Package – Communication on the recovery challenges Ongoing References: INT/733 Referral - COM(2014) 14 final Rapporteur: Ms Ulla SIRKEINEN (Employers - GR I / Finland)

    The EESC welcomes the Communication and concludes that the challenges facing European industries are not abating, and without a competitive industrial base, Europe will not secure growth and more jobs. In its opinion, the EESC particularly recommends to pay more attention to the role of the services and corresponding policies, in particular knowledge based services, to take measures to reduce energy prices and to encourage innovation, EU competition and state aid policies.

  • 20 Jan 2014
    Review of the internal market legislation for industrial products Ongoing References: INT/731 Referral - COM(2014) 25 final Rapporteur: Mr Denis Meynent (Workers - GR II / France)
  • 20 Jan 2014
    Impact of Services on Industry Ongoing References: CCMI/121 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Joost van Iersel (Employers - GR I / Netherlands) Co-rapporteur: Mr Hannes Leo (Various interests - GR III / Austria)

    In July 2013, the EESC has adopted an Opinion on Industrial policy in which industrial policy was qualified as a Growth initiative with great potentials. Following up the Opinion it is suggested to discuss somewhat underestimated aspects of the on-going industrial cycle that are vital for future growth and jobs, entailing huge consequences for (manufacturing) industry. It is about the impact of services, digitalisation, ICT and new variations in the same framework - such as 3D printing and other applications (ICT-plus) - on the industrial processes. Services are an increasing part of the European economy, and creating more jobs than manufacturing. The ICT-industry itself is growing in Europe by 10% annually. Services and ICT-plus have huge socio-economic and political implications.

  • 20 Jan 2014
    Industrial changes in the European packaging sector Ongoing References: CCMI/122 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr. Xavier GonçaloLobo (Employers - GR I / Portugal) Co-rapporteur: Mr. Nicola Konstantinou (Workers - GR II / Greece)

    The European packaging sector comprises five main sub-sectors. "Paper and board" (including paper bags and cartons) is the largest consumer packaging category with a~34% share of the total packaging market. "Rigid plastics" (tubs, pots and jars etc.) is the second-largest packaging category with a ~27% share and is one of the faster‑growing categories, forecast to grow above real GDP (~4% per year) until 2015.

  • 5 Dec 2013
    Communication establishing a Quality Framework for Restructuring and anticipation of change Ongoing References: CCMI/124 Referral Rapporteur: Mr Joost van Iersel (Employers - GR I / Netherlands) Co-rapporteur: Mr Thomas Student (Workers - GR II / Germany)

     

    The Communication of the Commission presents an EU Quality Framework for Anticipation of Change and Restructuring (QFR). It follows on from the Green Paper ‘Restructuring and anticipation of change: what lessons from recent experience’ of 17 January 2012 and the request made by the European Parliament on 15 January 2013 in its Resolution on information and consultation of workers, anticipation and management of restructuring based on Article 225 of the TFEU (known as the Cercas Report).

  • 19 Sep 2013
    Completing EMU - the next European legislature Ongoing References: ECO/357 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Joost VAN IERSEL (Employers - GR I / Netherlands) Co-rapporteur: Carmelo CEDRONE (Workers - GR II / Italy)
  • 17 Sep 2013
    Creating conditions for the Reshoring of the manufacturing industries activities to EU Ongoing References: CCMI/120 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Iozia (Workers - GR II / Italy) Co-rapporteur: Mr Leiriao (Various interests - GR III / Portugal) The European Commission under the European Strategy 2020 has established a goal to raise the industry contribution to GDP from 15.6% (2011) to 20% by 2020. The Industrial Policy Communication updated of October 2012 outlines a strategy to reverse the declining role of industry announcing actions in four main areas: Investment in new technologies and innovation; Access to Markets; Access to Finance and Human capital and skills.
  • 11 Jul 2013
    Smart regulation - SMEs Adopted References: CESE 2819/2013 - INT/692 Referral - COM(2013) 122 final Rapporteur: Ms Anna Maria Darmanin (Workers - GR II / Malta) Co-rapporteur: Mr Brendan Burns (Employers - GR I / United Kingdom) Plenary Session: 491 - 10 Jul 2013 - 11 Jul 2013 (Summary Plenary Session)
  • 11 Jul 2013
    "A Stronger European Industry for Growth and Economic Recovery" Industrial Policy Communication Update COM(2012) 582 final Adopted References: CESE 1094/2013 - CCMI/108 Referral Rapporteur: Mr van Iersel (Employers - GR I / Netherlands) Co-rapporteur: Mr Gibellieri (Workers - GR II / Italy) A coherent Industrial Policy requires far better governance – the EESC position. The EESC welcomes very much the focused attention to Europe's industry, as expressed in the Commission's update on Industrial policy of October 2012. The present opinion insists on a change of mind-set in the Member States (MS) and the EU Council. It stresses the need of coherent decision-making on a wide variety of issues, and effective governance at EU level. Only then industrial policy can become a building block of an EU Growth Initiative of which there is still little effective action.
  • 10 Jul 2013
    Space surveillance and tracking Adopted References: CESE 3545/2013 - INT/693 Referral - COM(2013) 107 final -2013/0064 COD Rapporteur: Mr Edgardo Iozia (Workers - GR II / Italy) Plenary Session: 491 - 10 Jul 2013 - 11 Jul 2013 (Summary Plenary Session)

Results 1 to 10 out of 48.