HomePage Banners

Europe in HarmonyOur world Our dignity Our FutureYour Europe Your Say 2015Festival of Europe - 9 May 2015 - Open Doors DayEuropean Passport to Active Citizenship

CESlink: Online cooperation between economic and social councils Grand-Duché de Luxembourg - Presidency of the Council of the European Union

EMAS - Verified environmental management

Register of documents

ISO14001 certified Vinçotte W3C - WAI-AA - WCAG 2.0


Extraordinary joint meeting of the ECO and SOC Sections and the Europe 2020 Steering Committee Meeting - Brussels, Belgium


8 November – 15:00 to 18:00

Welcome by Jacek Krawczyk, Vice-President of the EESC

Video message from Staffan Nilsson, President of the EESC

Statements by EESC Group Presidents

  • Henri Malosse, President of the Employers' Group (Group I)
  • Georgios Dassis, President of the Workers' Group (Group II)
  • Luca Jahier, President of the Various Interests' Group (Group III)

Round I: Reinforcing economic governance

Chair: Michael Smyth, President of the ECO Section

Statements by EESC members

  • David Croughan, Member of Group I
  • Stefano Palmieri, Member of Group II
  • Viliam Páleník, Member of Group III

Statements by external guests

  • Thierry Philipponnat, Secretary General, Finance Watch

General debate

Conclusions by the Chair

Round II: Maintaining social solidarity

Chair: Leila Kurki, President of the SOC Section

Statements by EESC members

  • Pedro Almeida Freire, Member of Group I
  • Gabriele Bischoff, Member of Group II

Statements by external guests

  • Conny Reuter, Secretary General of SOLIDAR, President of the Social Platform

General debate

Conclusions by the Chair

9 November – 9:30 to 12:45

Round III: Towards sustainable growth and employment: the EU budget and the Europe 2020 Strategy

Chair: Joost van Iersel, President of the Europe 2020 Steering Committee

Statements by EESC members

  • Vincent Farrugia, Member of Group I
  • Xavier Verboven, Member of Group II

Questions and answers: Klaus Regling, CEO, European Financial Stability Facility (EFSF): "The European Monetary Union – Return to Stability"

Statements by external guests

  • Philippe de Buck, Director General, BUSINESSEUROPE
  • Luca Visentini, Confederal Secretary, European Trade Union Confederation
  • Andrea Benassi, Secretary General, UEAPME

General debate

Conclusions by the Chair

Overall conclusions by Staffan Nilsson, President of the EESC