HomePage Banners

Social Pillar


CESlink: Online cooperation between economic and social councils Malta - Presidency of the Council of the European Union

EMAS - Verified environmental management

Register of documents


ISO14001 certified Vinçotte W3C - WAI-AA - WCAG 2.0

Conference - Brussels, Belgium


9:30 | Opening

  • Maureen O'Neill, President of the SOC Section of the EESC 
  • Juan Menéndez-Valdés, Director of Eurofound 

9:45 | Keynote speech

  • László Andor, Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion

10:00 | First Panel – "The social policy agenda: from active inclusion to social investment"

Chair: Maureen O'Neill, President of the SOC Section of the EESC

  • Robert Anderson, Head of Unit, Living Conditions and Quality of Life, Eurofound
  • Barbara Helfferich, EAPN Director
  • Ahmed Aboutaleb, Mayor of the City of Rotterdam and rapporteur on the "Social Investment Package", CoR (tbc)
  • Oliver Röpke, EESC member, rapporteur on the Social Investment Package, EESC

11:00 | Debate

10:20 | Coffee Break

11:30 | Second Panel – "Making it happen: the role of the Europe 2020 Strategy, the Social Investment Package and the European Semester"

Chair: Anna Ludwinek, Research Manager, Living Conditions and Quality of Life, Eurofound

  • Rebekah Smith, Senior Adviser of "Social Affairs", Businesseurope
  • Józef Niemiec, Deputy General Secretary, ETUC, and Eurofound Board member
  • Pierre Baussand, Director, Social Platform
  • Stefano Palmieri, President of the "Europe 2020" Steering Committee, EESC

12:30 | Debate

13:00 | Lunch break

14:30 | Third panel – "The way forward: The views from the European institutions"

Chair: Jerzy Ciechanski, Chair of the Board of Eurofound (tbc)

  • Lieve Fransen, Director of "Europe 2020: Social Policies" in DG Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion, EC (tbc)
  • Thomas Dominique, Chair of the Social Protection Committee
  • Efi Bekou, Secretary General of Welfare of the Ministry of Labour, Social Security and Welfare, Greece
  • Hans-Joachim Wilms, Vice-President of the EESC

15:30 | Closing

  • Maureen O'Neill, President of the SOC Section of the EESC
  • Juan Menéndez-Valdés, Director of Eurofound